top of page
Search

Blog #1

Hi! Welcome to my blog. This is where I will be documenting my capstone engineering class throughout my senior year in high school.


Here are some facts about me:

-My name is Lily

-I go to Santa Monica High School

-I like puppies


Due to the fact that I am in high school, I was told what to write about for this blog entry. The three questions that I will answer are what I did this summer, what I am most excited to do in this years engineering class, and what I am most excited for this year in general.


This summer was a mish-mosh of college tours, college applications, seeing family, and taking an online class. I visited Colorado and looked at a small engineering school there that I liked and a big state school that I did not. I then came home for three days and was off to the east coast. While on the east coast, I went to the United States Coast Guard Academy for a week of what they call Swab Summer AKA boot camp. This came with all the bells and whistles that you would think comes with boot camp, such as rude wake up calls at 0530, lack of being able to look at anyone or show any emotion, and lots of working out. After that, I went to Connecticut with a very hoarse voice and new found appreciation for being able to look at my food while eating it. I visited a school there and then went to Boston and Maine to look at other schools. After this trip I came back home and promptly started college applications.


I am most excited about putting everything I have been learning over the past three years to use. This is the most hands on year and it's going to be really cool to see what we as a class are able to do.


In general this year, I am excited about all the lasts. While they are going to be bittersweet, I am looking forward to them. I also am really excited to be done with college applications and finally having some peace of mind about where I am going to school next year.


Well, thank you for reading my first post and stay tuned for the next one!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog #6 -- Here's what's going on

Hey there! So, my groupmate and I have been working on a thing. A bear canister, more specifically. And so far, there's been plenty of ups and downs. The biggest challenge I've faced individually is t

Blog #5 - Second Semester (The Beginning of the End)

Hey! Welcome to second semester! Let's get right to it. I'm excited to know where I'll end up. All of high school feels like it has been leading up to the coming months, and although that is intimidat

bottom of page