top of page
Search

Lucky Number 7!

Hi!

Welcome back. So this blog post is about that big scary thing: college. Well, it's more about the even scarier thing: after college. As of this current moment I want to do some something in the STEM field, but it really depends on which school I end up at to get more in detail. If I go to McGill, I'll do Bioresource Engineering. If I go to Cal Poly SLO, I'll do Environmental Management and Protection with an emphasis in fire management. If I end up over at the Coast Guard Academy, I'll do Mechanical Engineering or what they call ORCA (Operations Research Computer Analysis) or maybe MES (Marine and Environmental Science). If Middleburry is an option, I'll possibly do Architecture. So, long story long, I want to do something in the environmental realm, I guess. And I do want to join the military in some capacity after high school/while I'm in college, so that does play into this whole thing. If I do career military, I'd love to be designing systems and technology for the Armed Forces after spending some time in the fleet. If I don't, I'd love to work in fire prevention through an engineering lens so I could design systems to better help firefighters do their jobs.


A famous person in the fire protection world is George William Manby. He was in the Royal Military in the late 1790's until 1801 when he got shot and then became a writer and inventor. His education was the Royal Military Academy. In five words, I'd say Mr. Manby is gritty, innovative, perceptive, driven and old. There is not much out there about his post-college whereabouts, other than the regiment he joined. I like how his career was very focused on helping others. His first invention was a system to rescue people from sinking ships and his second was the modern fire extinguisher.



Until next time,

Lily


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog #6 -- Here's what's going on

Hey there! So, my groupmate and I have been working on a thing. A bear canister, more specifically. And so far, there's been plenty of ups and downs. The biggest challenge I've faced individually is t

Blog #5 - Second Semester (The Beginning of the End)

Hey! Welcome to second semester! Let's get right to it. I'm excited to know where I'll end up. All of high school feels like it has been leading up to the coming months, and although that is intimidat

So, College.

Hi! Welcome back. In this post we talk about the one thing no high school senior wants to talk about right now: applying to college. My college application experience is not quite done yet, but from w

bottom of page